Welcome to the #1 Ford Fiesta Forum and Ford Fiesta community dedicated to Ford Fiesta owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Ford Fiesta Forum today!

Ford Fiesta 2014, UK - Engine Malfunction & Spanner

City
London
State
Non-US
Country
United Kingdom
What I Drive
Ford Fiesta 2014
Hi all!

This is my first time posting, and I'm hoping to receive some advice. I don't use my car frequently, only about once every week or two, and I make sure to give it a decent run when I do. The other day, when I turned on the engine, a yellow spanner (wrench) symbol appeared on the dashboard along with the warning message "Engine Malfunction - Service Now."

To prevent any potential damage, I decided not to drive the car at that time. I checked the oil levels, and they seem to be fine. Additionally, I charged the battery, which wasn't completely flat but was very close to it.

Today, after reinstalling the battery and starting the car, everything seemed to be fine. There were no symbols or warning messages displayed. However, I haven't been able to take it for a drive yet, but I did let it idle and revved the engine a bit, and everything sounded and felt normal.

My question is, assuming the symbols/icons don't appear again, can I assume that the issue was related to the nearly flat battery? Or would it still be necessary to send my car for a service at the garage, considering the potential hassle and cost?

Thank you in advance for your help.

All the best,
R

Handy Andy

Well-Liked Member
Premium Account
City
Grand Rapids
State
MI
Country
United States
What I Drive
2018 Ford Fiesta SE HB
The "low battery" can make that message appear, but you'd also see an Icon that looks like a car battery outlined in red ...

Kinda looks like this 1700610274131.png